top of page

Becoming a Surrogate:
A Quick Guide

Surrogacy is a journey that offers an amazing opportunity for women to help couples or individuals become parents.

However, before taking on this journey, it's important to consider the various aspects involved and be fully aware of the legal and health considerations. Here's a quick guide for women who are considering becoming a surrogate.

Health Qualifications

Health requirements to be a surrogate

  • To become a surrogate, you should be in good physical and mental health.

  • Surrogates need to undergo a comprehensive medical evaluation to ensure they are a suitable candidate. This includes a review of medical history, physical examination, and screening tests for sexually transmitted infections, and other medical conditions.

  • During the pregnancy, the surrogate is expected to maintain a healthy lifestyle and follow the instructions of the medical team to ensure a healthy pregnancy and delivery.

Age for Surrogacy

What are the age limits for surrogacy?

  • You should be between the ages of 21 and 40 and have had at least one successful pregnancy and delivery.

Legal Considerations in the United States

Surrogacy laws vary by state

  • Surrogacy laws vary from state to state in the US, so it's important to be aware of the laws in your state.

  • The legal process of surrogacy involves a written contract between the surrogate and the intended parents. This contract should outline the terms and responsibilities of both parties, including compensation, medical expenses, and any other agreements.

  • In some states, it's mandatory to have a lawyer to draft the contract, while in others, it's optional.

  • Surrogacy laws in the US also vary in regards to whether the intended parents or the surrogate are the legal parents at birth. It's essential to have a clear understanding of the legal process and your rights as a surrogate.

- Surrogate Questionnaire -

Surrogacy in Your State

Alabama. Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming.

bottom of page